- Elected Government
- County Clerk
- Business Names
CLICK THE LINK TO APPLY ONLINE
Assumed Name & Co-partnership
Persons who own, conduct, or transact business in Monroe County are required by Michigan law to file a certificate with the County Clerk's Office. Persons must file a separate certificate for each individual business name.
The following entities do not file at the county level:
- Limited Liability Companies
- Limited Partnerships
- Nonprofit Organizations Owned by Corporations
This office will verify if the business name is available at the time of filing. To ensure the business name you are interested in has not been registered with the state, search the State of Michigan Business Entity Search - LARA.
The County Clerk is authorized to reject any assumed name which is likely to mislead the public or is so closely similar to other business names as to lead to confusion or deception.
Please note final approval of a business name is the decision of the Monroe County Clerk.
There are two types of certificates filed at the county level: an assumed name and a co-partnership.
- An Assumed Name consists of one or more parties. It is more binding since all parties listed must sign the documents in front of a notary public and no changes can be made without the signatures of all parties involved.
Notarization of the form is necessary. This office will provide notarization when filing in person. Make sure to bring your state issued photo identification (i.e. driver's license or Michigan state I.D. card).
Both Assumed Name and Co-partnership certificates are legal documents. The Clerk's Office is prohibited from providing legal or accounting advice to individuals interested in filing certificates. Please consult your legal or tax experts for such advice.
A person owning, conducting, or transacting a business must be at least 18 years of age. Each business name is valid for 5 years from the date of filing, subject to renewal.
Forms of Payment Accepted
Cash, money orders, Business check, and credit cards (credit cards will be assessed a service fee of $1.75). No personal checks are accepted.
The fee for filing or renewing either the "Certificate of Assumed Name" or the "Certificate of Co-partnership" is $10; two certified copies of the "Certificate of Assumed Name" or three certified copies of the "Certificate of Co-partnership" will be provided. The certificate is valid for five years from the date of filing.
Notarization of the certificate is also necessary. This office will provide notarization if the owner has a current valid driver's license or state-issued ID, with correct residential address. For assumed names, all signatures must be notarized, if filing a co-partnership, all owners signatures are required; however, only one owner's signature needs to be notarized. If more than one person owns the business, all need to be present when filing, if the certificate is to be notarized by this office. Any person filing an Assumed Name presenting an out-of-state driver's license or state-issued ID will also need to complete a consent to suit and pay the additional $2 filing fee.
It is the responsibility of persons owning a business to notify this office and file the required forms if:
- The principal address of the business changes.
- Persons are added or deleted from the business name certificate.
- The business is dissolved. There is a $10 fee and a Notice of Dissolution of Co-Partnership or Business under Assumed Name form must be filed with the Clerks Office. All persons listed on original DBA or Co-partnership must sign in front of a notary
Please note: The only function of this office is to register business names at the county level, in Monroe County. There may be other local, state and federal agencies that handle requirements and regulations which affect your business.
If you have any questions please call 734-240-7020.
For further information, please refer to the Monroe County of Economic Development Corporation website.