• Background

Probate / Family Court

Probate / Family Court

JUVENILE DIVISION


MEET OUR STAFF!

JUVENILE COURT REFEREE 
CHERYL R. SWEENEY
Email:  cheryl_sweeney@monroemi.org

Bar photo 2019 - Copy (3)
WHAT IS A JUVENILE COURT REFEREE?
Referees are judicial officers who preside over hearings, consider testimony, and enter recommendations or adjudications. All referees are appointed (as opposed to judges, who are elected). Referees are attorneys (unless grandfathered in prior to 1993) who are in good standing with the State Bar of Michigan. A referee is considered a “judge” for purposes of the Judicial Canons, Rule 9.201.  Juvenile Court referees preside over hearings designed to protect children at abuse and neglect” hearings. Children may be protected by being placed into foster homes. Juvenile referees also hear “juvenile delinquency” cases when minors violate criminal statues. Juvenile referees make adjudications that become the order of the court.


 JUVENILE PROBATION DEPARTMENT
 IMG_0061 - Copy


JUVENILE PROBATION DEPARTMENT
 Robert Jones  Deputy Director of Juvenile Services
Office: 734-240-7169
Email: robert_jones@monroemi.org
Steve Dunham  Diversion Officer
Email: steven_dunham@monroemi.org
Office: 734-240-7166
 Autumn Barnett  Adoption Supervisor
Email: autumn_barnett@monroemi.org
Office: 734-240-7172
 Brian Rochowiak  Intensive Probation
Email: brian_rochowiak@monroemi.org
Office: 734-240-7164
Lyn Hammond  Probation Officer
Email: lyn_hammond@monroemi.org
Office: 734-240-7163
Matt Gunter  Probation Officer
Email: matthew_gunter@monroemi.org
 Office: 734-240-7179
Jeff Dusseau  Intensive Probation
Email: jeff_dusseau@monroemi.org
Office:
734-240-3229
   
   

JUVENILE DIVISION SUPPORT STAFF

IMG_0054 - Copy (2)

MAIN NUMBER:  734-240-7160


Michelle Hassett   Juvenile Register
Office:  734-240-7174
Email: michelle_hassett@monroemi.org
   
 Pennie Kreps   Court Recorder
Office:   734-240-7170
Email: pennie_kreps@monroemi.org
   
Isabella Didario Deputy Juvenile Register
Office:  734-240-7168
Email: isabella_didario@monroemi.org
   
Angie Pendleton Support Services Assistant
Office:  734-240-7171
Email: angela_pendleton@monroemi.org